Sara in the City: Day 16

Well, today’s work day was short. I was let go at around 11:30 because the designers ran out of intern-y things for me to do. So, to fill up an unexpected free afternoon, I walked to the Met, which takes about an hour. I wondered around for a while, got a yummy treat at Dean & DeLuca (an iced mocha and an amazing strawberry-peach muffin), walked down Madison Avenue, and eventually grabbed the subway back to my dorm.

Basically, we’re at the point in the design process where the designers are doing a lot of sketching and fabric-picking and inspiration-finding for the next collection (Spring). It is really cool to see the design process unfold around me. Before the clothes can even be made, they need to be sketched, rendered in color, organized onto boards with fabric swatches, draped on a dress form, turned into a paper pattern, made into muslins, fitted, and eventually made with the fashion fabric. I’m so excited to see some of the amazing sketches come to life!  In the meantime, here are some interesting intern task I’ve performed recently:

  • Sewing snaps speed-style onto one of my bosses dresses before she left for vacation
  • Picking out, buying, and carrying two huge clear plastic tubs back to the office (thanks so much to the other fabulous intern that helped me!)
  • Entertaining 4 rambunctious six-year olds during their “One Day as a Designer” and making sure they didn’t stick their hands into a sewing machine
  • Organizing shoes, old ribbons, lace, and trims and packing them away
  • Converting an old pattern into a maternity pattern for one of our pregnant Sales girls to wear to market
  • Running around trying to find sew-through boning 3/8ths of an inch wide. Pro-tip: no one has it. NO. ONE.
  • And more!

One of the most important parts of this experience has been getting an inside look at the industry. I definitely am trying to keep my eyes and ears open, and to learn as much as possible. This business demands a lot, and I’ve learned the importance of observation, being assertive, and asking for help.

The Office entry-way is lined with gorgeous fashion illustrations

The Office entry-way is lined with gorgeous fashion illustrations

After the long week of work, it’s fun to unwind on the weekends! Some of my favorite things I’ve done so far on the weekends are as follows:

  • The Met. I’ve been three times now, and I still haven’t seen it all. I always find something beautiful and inspiring!
A gorgeous furnished room I stumbled upon today

A gorgeous furnished room I stumbled upon today

  • Mass. I’ve been to a few different Catholic Churches, and they’ve all been so lovely.
My local Church/safe haven

My local Church/safe haven

  • Brunch spots, bakeries, patisseries, coffee shops. NYC has an abundance of adorable places to satisfy my sweet tooth, and I WILL find all of them.
Yumminess at Bouchon Bakery

Yumminess at Bouchon Bakery

  • The Ballet. I went to see the NYCB perform “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” last weekend, and have plans to see ABT perform “Cinderella” this weekend. Yay!
Lovely costumes!

Lovely costumes!

  • Shopping. Duh.

I’ve been here for more than two weeks now. I’m getting better at finding my way around, I’ve made some friends, and I found a great pizza place. I still miss home, family, and friends, but I’m trying to find a routine for life in the city. And it’s got a pretty good view:

A great view of the city from the rooftop bar at Rare Bar&Grill

A great view of the city from the rooftop bar at Rare Bar&Grill

2 comments

  1. Michele · · Reply

    Sara, back in the day I was a young wall street analyst at Goldman Sachs. I had cool friends and explored the city. Enjoy! Check out all the museums, food and performing arts events!

    1. Michele, I definitely plan to enjoy all the interesting experiences the city has to offer. New York is such an interesting new place to explore!

Leave a comment